And The Oscar Goes To....

So "Avatar" is the most successful film of all time, but "The Hurt Locker" was better apparently! My film of the year "A Serious Man" won nothing but it was nominated for Best Picture which I only found out tonight.

So the other main thing about tonight's/this morning's Oscars was the fact that they didn't let anyone who won an award make a fecking speech, apart from the main awards of course, mic's were turned off and lots of the camera cutting to someone in the crowd literally mouthing "why won't they let them speak?". Yet the intro into the Best Actor and Actress parts were really drawn out with a co-star coming on and gushing about the nominee for ages.

But anyway, what else happened. I thought there were no Irish winners but Richard Baneham, won for best visual effects. The show started off with Neil Patrick Harris, who no one on the Sky panel (David Baddiel, Ronni Ancona and Mark Dolan) knew, doing a song and dance routine, obviously Baldwin and Martin weren't up to it. They were ok but they didn't actually do much. The only bit of humour really was Ben Stiller presenting Best Makeup, check it out.

There was a John Hughes tribute which involved Matthew Broderick, Molly Ringwald, Jon Cryer, Ally Sheedy, Judd Nelson, Anthony Michael Hall and Macauley Culkin turn up. James Taylor played "In My Life" underneath the In Memoriam section (that's where they applaud people for dying). There was also a horror montage for no reason and Roger Corman winning some sort of honorary Oscar.

Also can't get over Kathryn Bigelow is fifty-eight.

Also Fisher Stevens won an Oscar!!

The winners were:
Best Motion Picture of the Year
The Hurt Locker (2008) - Kathryn Bigelow, Mark Boal, Nicolas Chartier, Greg Shapiro

Best Achievement in Directing
Kathryn Bigelow for The Hurt Locker (2008)

Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role
Sandra Bullock for The Blind Side (2009)

Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role
Jeff Bridges for Crazy Heart (2009)

Best Foreign Language Film of the Year
El secreto de sus ojos (2009)(Argentina)

Best Achievement in Editing
The Hurt Locker (2008) - Bob Murawski, Chris Innis

Best Documentary, Features
The Cove (2009) - Louie Psihoyos, Fisher Stevens

Best Achievement in Visual Effects
Avatar (2009) - Joe Letteri, Stephen Rosenbaum, Richard Baneham, Andy Jones

Best Achievement in Music Written for Motion Pictures, Original Score
Up (2009) - Michael Giacchino

Best Achievement in Cinematography
Avatar (2009) - Mauro Fiore

Best Achievement in Sound Mixing
The Hurt Locker (2008) - Paul N.J. Ottosson, Ray Beckett

Best Achievement in Sound Editing
The Hurt Locker (2008) - Paul N.J. Ottosson

Best Achievement in Costume Design
The Young Victoria (2009) - Sandy Powell

Best Achievement in Art Direction
Avatar (2009) - Rick Carter, Robert Stromberg, Kim Sinclair

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role
Mo'Nique for Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire (2009)

Best Writing, Screenplay Based on Material Previously Produced or Published
Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire (2009) - Geoffrey Fletcher

Best Achievement in Makeup
Star Trek (2009) - Barney Burman, Mindy Hall, Joel Harlow

Best Short Film, Live Action
The New Tenants (2009) - Joachim Back, Tivi Magnusson

Best Documentary, Short Subjects
Music by Prudence (2010) - Roger Ross Williams, Elinor Burkett

Best Short Film, Animated
Logorama (2009) - Nicolas Schmerkin

Best Writing, Screenplay Written Directly for the Screen
The Hurt Locker (2008) - Mark Boal

Best Achievement in Music Written for Motion Pictures, Original Song
Crazy Heart (2009) - T-Bone Burnett, Ryan Bingham ("The Weary Kind")

Best Animated Feature Film of the Year
Up (2009) - Pete Docter

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role
Christoph Waltz for Inglourious Basterds (2009)